Breaking: Senator Akpabio Emerges Senate President

Senator Godswill Akpabio, senator-elect from Akwa Ibom state has emerged as the Senate President of the 10th National Assembly.

Akpabio and a former governor of Zamfara state, Senator Abdulaziz Yari, were nominated for the senate president position.

Akpabio a former minister of Niger-Delta Affairs is believed to enjoy the backing of the majority All Progressives Congress and President Bola Ahmed Tinubu who he stepped down for during the party’s crowded presidential primary. It is believed that a deal was struck between both men that Akpabio will be supported to become Senate President.

Akpabio scored 64 votes as against Yari’s 46 votes.

Senator Jibrin Barau was also elected as Deputy Senate President unopposed.

The election for Speaker of the House of Representatives is currently ongoing with expectations of a similar result as the preferred candidate of the APC, Rep. Tadjudeen Abass is leading with the votes declared by reps members.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.