Ekiti Governorship Election: APC inaugurates aspirant’s screening, appeals committee

Chairman of the APC screening committee for the 2018 Ekiti governorship election, H.E. Timipre Sylva; the National Organising Secretary, Sen. Osita Izunaso and the Deputy National Secretary, Hon. Victor Giadom during the inauguration of the Party’s screening and appeal committees at the Party’s National Secretariat in Abuja on Tuesday.
……33 Aspirants Pick Expression of Interest and Nomination Form
The All Progressives Congress (APC) on Tuesday inaugurated the Party’s screening and appeal committees for aspirants contesting the May 5 primary election to elect the Party’s flagbearer for the 2018 Ekiti governorship election.
The Party’s National Organising Secretary, Senator. Osita Izunaso who inaugurated the committees said the screenings were mandatory for all aspirants. He charged committee members to continue in the APC’s tradition of adhering to due process and ensure fairness during the exercise.
Izunaso said the committees will rely on the Party’s 2014 guidelines for the nomination of candidates for public office; the Party’s constitution and the 1999 Nigerian constitution (as amended) in carrying out the assignment.
He disclosed that 33 aspirants picked expression of interest and nomination forms, the highest recorded by the Party.
Members of the screening committee are: Former governor of Bayelsa State, Mr. Timipre Sylva (Chairman); Mr.   Denton Ogbuehi (Secretary); Samaila Hassan Yusuf (member); Hajiya Amina Gamawa (member); Ayo Afolabi (member); Mr. Bilyamin Shinkafi (member) and Mr. Mohammed Mustapha (member).
The screening appeals committee comprises: Abuzarri Ribadu (Chairman); Tunde Esan (Secretary); Mr. Kayode Oseni (member); Mr. Osaro Bizugbe (member) and Edem Selong (member).
Speaking on behalf of the committee members, the Chairman of the screening committee, H.E. Timipre Sylva promised that the committees will be thorough and fair to all aspirants in carrying out the assignment.
“We will do a thorough job and make sure that no misfit or anybody not qualified pass through this committee”, he said.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.