Imo, Kogi, Bayelsa Polls: Uzodinma, Ododo Win As Diri Maintains Lead

Kogi State Governor Ahmed Usman Ododo

The Independent National Electoral Commission on Sunday declared Governor Hope Uzodinma of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as the winner of Saturday’s gubernatorial election in Imo State.

This is as INEC declared Usman Ododo of the APC as the winner of the governorship election in Kogi State.

Uzodinma polled 540,308 votes to defeat his main challenger Senator Samuel Anyanwu of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and the Labour Party’s Athan Achonu. Both candidates who polled 71,503 and 64,081 votes respectively. The 15 other candidates got less than 10,000 votes each.

In Kogi State, Ododo polled 446,237 followed by his closest rival, Murtala Ajaka of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) who recorded 259,052 votes; Dino Melaye of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), 46,362 and Leke Abejide of the African Democratic Party (ADP), 21,819 votes.

The Kogi State Returning Officer for the election, Prof. Johnson Urama, said the number of cancelled votes in the areas where election did not hold was 16, 247 and could not substantially affect the outcome of the result.

Candidates of the major opposition parties in both elections rejected the outcome, describing it as a charade and mockery of the electoral process.

They alleged that elections were not held in the majority of the polling units but results were “manufactured” and uploaded on INEC’s Results Viewing (IReV) portal.

Meanwhile, INEC adjourned the collation of the Bayelsa State governorship election till 12 noon on Monday.

INEC’s decision was announced at the state collation center in Yenagoa, Bayelsa capital, on Sunday night.

As at Sunday, Governor Duoye Diri of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) lead based on results of the six Local Government Areas (LGAs) announced so far. Next to Diri is Timipre Sylva of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Below are the LGAS and votes of parties announced so far:

APC – 16,319
LP – 57
PDP – 18,435

APC – 5,349
LP – 22
PDP – 18,465


APC: 6,608
PDP: 35,504
LP: 217


APC – 14534
PDP – 37777


APC: 22,248
PDP: 4,556
LP: 113


APC: 8,445
PDP: 23,172
LP: 50

PBAT’s Oil and Gas Reforms

PBAT's Oil and Gas Reforms 2.3



Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.