Senate President Bags Award For Parliamentary Excellence

The President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan was on Friday conferred with the “Distinguished Award for pailamentary Excellence.”

President Muhammadu Buhari presented the Award to him at the Nigeria Excellence Award in Public Service(NEAPS) ceremony held at the State House Conference Centre, Abuja.

The Speaker of the House of Representatives, Rt. Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila was also conferred with the Distinguished Award for Parliamentary Excellence.

Both the Senate President and the Speaker were present at the event to receive their Awards. About 42 other Nigerians including former President Goodluck Jonathan, some governors, ministers and Heads of government agencies also received Awards of various categories.

The event was packaged by The Best Strategic(TBS) Media in collaboration with the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation(SGF).

Lawan was first elected to the National Assembly at the commencement of the Fourth Republic in 1999. He was at the House of Representatives until 2007 when he got elected into the Senate.

As one of the most experienced and longest serving Federal lawmakers in Nigeria, Lawan has, all along, been an active member in the parliament, heading various committees until his appointment as the Leader of the Senate in 2017 and in 2019, he was elected by his Distinguished Senator colleagues as the 14th President of the Senate.

The Senate President was, less than two weeks ago, precisely on 11th October, 2022, conferred with the Grand Commander of the Order of the Niger(GCON) by President Buhari.

The honour was accorded him in recognition of his contributions to nation building.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.