Speaker Abass Announces Ihonbvere As Majority Leader, Chinda Is New Minority Leader

House Majority Leader, Rep Julius Ihonvbere

Speaker of the House of Representatives Rp. Tajudeen Abbas on Tuesday announced the principal officers for the 10th House of Representatives, as the House resumed plenary after the Salah holiday.

Former presidential aide and ranking member of the House, Rep. Julius Ihonbvere was announced as Majority Leader, while the new Deputy Majority Leader is Halims Abdullahi and Chief Whip Bello Kumo, and Deputy Chief Whip – Adewumi Onanuga. Onanuga from Ogun State is the only female principal officer of the House.

House of Reps Minority Leader Rep. Kingsley Chinda

Speaker Abbas read the letters from the minority Caucus and the All Progressive Congress, APC.

He said, “According to the standing rules that member of the minority party shall nominate the Minority Leader, Deputy Minority Leader, Minority Whip and Deputy Minority Whip, all coming from the minority parties in the House.

“While for the minority parties, Kingsley Chinda of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) is the Minority Leader, while Deputy Minority Leader is Ozodinobi George of the Labour Party, Minority Whip is Ali Issa also of the PDP and Deputy Minority Whip is Ali Madaki of the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP).

Chinda has finally made it as the Minority Leader having contested and lost in the 9th Assembly.

PBAT’s Oil and Gas Reforms

PBAT's Oil and Gas Reforms 2.3



Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.