Gusau Elected New NFF President

Ibrahim Gusau, NFF President

Ibrahim Musa Gusau on Friday was elected the 40th President of the Nigeria Football Federation.

Gusau emerged at NFFโ€™s 78th Elective Congress in Benin, the Edo State capital.

He polled 21 votes to defeat his closet challenger, Barrister Seyi Akinwunmi, who got 12. The second runner-up, erstwhile League Management Committee Chairman, Shehu Dikko, garnered six votes.

Recall that the Court of Appeal on Thursday morning ordered a stay-of-execution of an ex parte injunction secured a fortnight ago to stop the elections, meaning that the coast was clear for the contest for the NFF presidency by 10 individuals and dozen other notable persons jostling for seats on the federationโ€™s Executive Committee.

The 10 persons that jostled to succeed Amaju Pinnick as Nigeria footballโ€™s supremo are current vice presidents Seyi Akinwunmi and Mallam Shehu Dikko, as well as current Executive Committee members, Ibrahim Gusau and Suleiman Yahaya-Kwande.

Others cleared for the exalted post, to be vacated by Pinnick, are immediate past General Secretary, Musa Amadu and Head of Safety and Security of the Confederation of African Football, Christian Emeruwa, Mouktar Mohammed, former Nigeria international, Peterside Idah, Abba Yola and UK-based David-Buhari Doherty.

PBAT’s Oil and Gas Reforms

PBAT's Oil and Gas Reforms 2.3



Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.