Ogun Speaker, Oluomo Impeached

The Speaker of Ogun State House of Assembly, Olakunle Oluomo, was on Tuesday impeached by 18 out of 26 members.

Oluomo who represents Ifo State Constituency was impeached over allegations of gross misconduct, highhandedness, lack of focus and transparency, financial misappropriation during a the house sitting presided over by the Deputy Speaker, Mrs, Bolanle Ajayi (APC-Yewa South).

The former Speaker was removed while he was reportedly at the June 12 Cultural Centre, Kuto Abeokuta for the swearing-in of customary court judges a few metres away to the assembly complex, Governors Office, Oke-Mosan.

The Assembly also elected Oludaisi Elemide (APC-Odeda) as the new speaker.

Adegoke Awoso  (APC-Yewa North 1), moved the motion for the impeachment of Oluomo, the motion was seconded by  Ademola Adeniran another APC lawmaker representing Sagamu Constituency II.

Adeyanju, popularly called Awoso had reportedly entered the assembly chamber with the mace in the company of other lawmakers

PBAT’s Oil and Gas Reforms

PBAT's Oil and Gas Reforms 2.3



Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.